WHY STARS?

Skills Transfers in Academia: a Renewed Strategy.
Enhancing Legal Clinics in the European Union.
Erasmus+ Stars brings together 5 universities, from 4 EU countries, in order to enhance and support the legal clinics development

CONTACT INFO

STARS SUMMER SCHOOL in BRESCIA – Final Report

 

STARS SUMMER SCHOOL in BRESCIA – Final Report

 

The University of Brescia, Department of Law, hosted the first Summer School organized within the European Project STARS - "Skills transfers in Academia: a Renewed Strategy Enhancing Legal Clinics in the European Union", from  Monday, July 2nd to Friday July 6th, 2018.

During this first summer school, the Brescia Law Clinic offered a structured replica of its traditional clinical activities, holding special clinical sessions and reproducing the methods and the pedagogical approaches applied in the Brescia law clinic, in order to share its experience with the participants.

Participants

STARS Summer School mainly addressed  law students interested in Clinical Legal Education. Each partner of the Consortium (University of Luxembourg, Università degli Studi Roma Tre, Palacký University in Olomouc, Czech Republic, and the Romanian-American University in Bucharest) has selected at least two students from its University and the University of Brescia has selected the others. In total  around 20 students have been admitted to the summer school. In particular, fourteen foreign students participated in the event (2 from Spain, 6 from Romania, 1 from Poland, 3 from Luxemburg, 2 from Czech republic).

Students received grants to cover travel costs and their stay in Brescia, as stated in the STARS budget. Moreover, they received 3 ECTS for their participation and they were awarded a certificate of attendance.

Because the STARS project aims at the transfer and enhancement of the clinical teaching in European Academia, clinicians, law teachers and professionals interested in Clinical Legal Education (regardless of their experience)  have been enrolled too.

The Brescia Bar Association has recognized credits in continuum education for Lawyers who took part in STARS Summer School.

Trainers and Tutors

TRAINERS. All members of the UNIBS Clinical Staff (i.e. teachers and lawyers) supported and participated in the Summer School; they mainly supervised students during the separate sessions (even if some of them conducted also common sessions).

Moreover, two Anglo-American professors have been invited to conduct common sessions according with their expertise and experience.

In particular, the following teachers and lawyers took part in the Summer School:

GROUP 1 - MERCURIUS:

 Dr. Laura Bugatti (laura.bugatti@unibs.it); Dr. Elena Togni (elena.togni@unibs.it);  Avv. Margherita Scarabelli (margheritascarabelli@gmail.com)

GROUP 2 - IGEA:

Prof. Cristina Amato (cristina.amato@unibs.it); Avv. Arena Vittorio (vittoare@libero.it); Dr. Alberto Aimi (alberto.aimi@unibs.it)

GROUP 3 - EFESTO:

Prof. Marzia Barbera (marzia.barbera@unibs.it); Prof. Fabio Ravelli (fabio.ravelli@unibs.it);  Prof. Francesca Malzani (francesca.malzani@unibs.it); Dr. Carla Ghitti (carla.ghitti@unibs.it);  Dr. Marco Guerini (marco.guerini@unibs.it); Dr. Francesco Rizzi (francesco.rizzi@unibs.it); Dr. Venera Protopapa (venera.protopapa@unibs.it)

GROUP 4 - JANUS:

Prof. Patrizia de Cesari (patrizia.decesari@unibs.it); Prof. Chiara di Stasio (chiara.distasio@unibs.it); Prof. Paola Lombardi (paola.lombardi@unibs.it); Avv. Paola Valenti (valenti.83@libero.it); Avv. Gian Paolo Sina (g.sina@studiobvsa.it); Dr. Sara Cristinelli (sara.cristinelli@adl-zavidovici.eu); Dr. Paola Arcari (paola.arcari@adl-zavidovici.eu)

COMMON SESSIONS:  

Prof. Leah Wortham (wortham@law.cua.edu); Prof. Richard Grimes (richard.grimes@hotmail.co.uk)

LEGAL ETHICS: Avv. Giovanni Salvi (gs@giovannisalvi.it); Dr. Laura Bugatti (laura.bugatti@unibs,it)

TUTORS.

Moreover, we asked UNIBS students interested in Summer School to support  foreign students during the event and provide some help to the clinical Staff during the summer school’s organization. Both students with experience in clinical courses and former UNIBS Tutors have been engaged in the Summer School.

In particular, the following Tutors have been enrolled:

SIMONA BUONO (s.buono001@studenti.unibs.it); DANIELA CACCIA (d.caccia@studenti.unibs.it); IRINA CARNAT (i.carnat@studenti.unibs.it); SARA FATHAHI TARKY (s.fathahitarky001@studenti.unibs.it); GAIA FAUSTI (g.fausti003@studenti.unibs.it); RICCARDO MINISTRINI (riccardoministrini@hotmail.it; MATTEO SPINELLI (m_spinelli@outlook.it); NICOLA ZANINI (n.zanini002@studenti.unibs.it)

Founds

The Brescia STARS Summer School has been supported by:

  • STARS founding
  • ‘Consulenti del lavoro’ donation
  • financial Support from the Università degli Studi di Brescia

Programme

As stated before, the first summer school offered a structured replica of the Brescia Law Clinic’s traditional clinical activities.

During the Summer School common sessions and separate sessions have been organized.

The common session was run mainly by Anglo-American experts of clinical teaching (prof. R. Grimes and Prof. L. Wortham).  The Focus was on:

“Problem Based Learning: A Theory’ - Prof. R. Grimes

“Discussion of the different solutions in different legal systems: students illustrates their legal solutions and arguments”  - Prof. R. Grimes)

“Lawyering: strategic litigation, meeting the client’- Prof. L. Wortham and Prof. R. Grimes

“Legal Ethics” - Prof. L. Wortham and Dr. L. Bugatti

“Legal Ethics – cases discussion”  - Avv. G. Salvi

The separate sessions addressed four groups (in separate classrooms with internet connection and any other facilities): each group dealt with one legal case for the whole week, under the supervision of Brescia clinical staff (teachers and lawyers). The following activities have been performed:

  1. Each group, in their own classroom, handled the case assigned, applying PBL techniques (check the documents, write a chronology of facts, Brainstorming, ranking, ..)
  2. Students worked on each case considering the European Legislation and their own legal system (The relevant legal issues selected in the previous session had been dealt with according to the European and national legislation/case law).
  3. Each group practiced on meeting the client: simulations, role games (clients/actors)
  4. Team work (cooperative learning) on cases
  5. Final Round Table: Students’ presentations (one per each group)

The substantial focus was on Consumer Law. Nevertheless, considering the fact that UNIBS Legal Clinic is a multidisciplinary clinic and that the STARS Summer school should be a replica of UNIBS clinical activities, legal cases on Asylum seeker and antidiscrimination Law have been addressed.

During the summer school two Training for Trainers (ToT) reserved to clinicians/Law Professors/professionals have been organized (Tuesday, July 3rd and Wednesday 4th, both in the afternoon).

Both common sessions and separate sessions were run in English.

Moodle platform

Moodle platform has been created to showcase the work of the consortium, to share documents and materials among the partners to present the STARS project and conduct the STARS activities during the Summer Schools. As stated in the project, at its first stage, the Moodle Clinics platform has been opened only to STARS project participants (Summer school participants/trainers and STARS partners). A part of the Moodle Platform has been dedicated to the  First Summer School (Brescia).

Summer Schools participants took an active role during the Summer Schools, being directly involved in the learning process, in the construction of their knowledge, competences and skills. In particular Moodle Platform has been created as a collaborative environment that both students and teachers built together before and during the summer schools activities. 

The default activities and resources of Moodle have been selected and combined in a way that suits for our educational propose of the summer school; in particular, students have been able to:

-    Find information about the STARS Project, LCs, First STARS Summer School: students had access to relevant websites (STARS project, Website, Brescia Legal Clinic Website..); files (e.g. general information about the Summer School, description of legal cases, templates, detailed syllabus and brochure, general information and so on); folders (created for helping organize files and collecting a series of files on one topic); webpages (for example presentation of cases; groups, contacts)

-       Collaborate and communicate: each student had access to a special section dedicated to the legal case that she/he handled (it will be filled with the description of the case, legal documents, research materials, work done during the separate session and so on). The section was shared among students working on the same legal case and related supervisors/trainers. Moreover, online forums (a general one as well as forums reserved and dedicated to each group) have been created: they provided a mean of communication outside of classroom meetings

Feedback

At the end of the summer school the STARS anonymous questionnaire has been circulated in order to collect feedback, suggestions and ideas from the participants. Answers attested an overall satisfaction among participants.

 



X Questo sito o gli strumenti terzi da questo utilizzati si avvalgono di cookie necessari al funzionamento ed utili alle finalità illustrate nella cookie policy. Se vuoi saperne di più o negare il consenso a tutti o ad alcuni cookie, consulta la cookie policy. Chiudendo questo banner, cliccando su accetto, cliccando su un link o proseguendo la navigazione in altra maniera, acconsenti all'uso dei cookie.
Accetto